My name is Katrina, and I’m a gamer

Obviously, I’m still trying to figure out what this blog should be. Travel? Love it, but can’t afford to do enough of it to write about it regularly. Work? Best leave professional topics at the office. Random thoughts? Isn’t that what Facebook is for?

I stumbled upon this idea while munching on my lunch and working on reducing the clutter of tabs in my Google Chrome browser (all things that are too important to risk closing out and forgetting): 20 days of… WoW.

To those of you who don’t know… I am, in fact, a World of Warcraft addict. I look at that string of tabs in my browser and there’s a definite theme… A site to help me get the best prices for the random drops I pick up, a site that shows me exactly what my character will look like with the tier 7 raid gear from the 25-man Naxxramas raid, a site to show me exactly where each piece comes from, a tab that gets used to look up whatever I need while I’m in-game, and of course, Facebook.

So when I found someone had challenged bloggers to write about WoW for 20 days, it seemed a natural fit. Finally, something I do virtually every day that I can write about for fun. 🙂

So here’s day 1: Introduce yourself

My name is Katrina, but for WoW purposes I usually go by Ana (short for Anathrea). Ana, my main, is a level-85 Draenei hunter who most often fights alongside a white leopard with grey spots and a blue glow in his eyes and mouth. I’m sure I’ll talk more about him later.

In real life I’m a 25-year-old newspaper reporter/photographer. That’s right. By day I work to spread the news of this little city to everyone who cares to read it and by night I run around Azeroth destroying things. Sadly, I’m pretty sure the journalist alibi doesn’t make me a superhero (although I do feel like one running low-level dungeons!), but I think I’m okay with that. I’m not sure any criminal would take me seriously if I showed up in a night elf costume and drew a skeleton bow on them.

I have two cats, one of whom loves to walk in front of my computer in the middle of boss fights.

For now, WoW is pretty much the only game I play regularly. I’m very slowly working my way through Zelda: Twilight Princess on the Wii. But I never had any game consoles growing up, so am totally unfamiliar with this notion of game controllers. Give me a keyboard and a mouse and I’m golden.

Some games in my history: Halflife (LAN only against my brothers back when I was in high school), CounterStrike (same story), a little bit of the early Tomb Raider series, and the Myst saga (yes, I made it through all of them, except the last one, because  my graphics card couldn’t read the books, and yes, I did them without cheating, except for I think two spots in IV that stalled me for days). I’m a bit stuck with my current computer, but once I have a machine that will handle them, I’d love to try out Oblivion and Skyrim, Rift, and maybe Mass Effect. We’ll see.

Well, there’s a bit of an introduction. Hopefully I’ll get more into this in the next 19 days. 🙂

My main, image courtesy of figureprints.com.

~ by Katrina Styx on February 9, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
